top of page

Getting to know me!

Recently I did an interview for the Style Counsel, as I am a freelance Stylist for their new styling App! It was a getting to know you kind of interview, so I thought I'd share it on here as a blog post so you guys can discover a bit more about me!

There's a link to the App at the bottom of the blog. It's free to download and offers an amazing service- like having your own personal stylist in your pocket 24/7! Please do download it as you will be helping me grow my business!

So here's the interview-

How did you get into Styling?-

I’ve always been a fan of quirky styles, and with this came confidence to be myself and wear what made me happy- which is usually vintage frocks! About 3 years ago I decided to take my passion for vintage style and my collection of vintage frocks and turn it into a business- so I opened a Vintage Boutique. I loved meeting lots of ladies, all who were looking for inspiration, a confidence boost and style advice. When my store closed I decided to continue empowering and inspiring women by offering them a personal styling service.

What made you want to become a Confidence Coach as well as a Stylist?

When I arrive at a clients house for our styling session I have all the usual info about her size, shape, colours to hand. However, what often comes during our session is the deeper issue making the client feel less confident in herself. For example, divorce, having kids, kids leaving home, illness, weight loss, weight gain. I felt helping women address these deeper issues would be hugely beneficially. Addressing their style felt like a quick fix, addressing the underlying issues leads to more empowerment for the client!

What is your fave part of the job and why?

I absolutely love watching the transformation that takes place during my sessions. Being part of a woman’s journey to embracing and loving herself is an amazing honour. Oh, and I love shopping too!

What advice would you give your teenage self?

Keep on being you! Be true to yourself, celebrate your successes and know that you’re worthy.

Why do women often feel self conscious in what they wear? How to overcome this?

I think the media and the fashion industry today play a massive part in effecting how a woman feels about her body and her shape. As women we are often bombarded by images of how we ‘should’ look or dress. This, mixed with other events in our lives- having a baby, going through an illness etc, can lead to women feeling they no longer recognise their bodies or conform to what is expected of them by the media. As a result women feel self conscious. Overcoming this is a process that doesn’t necessarily have a quick fix! Knowing your body shape and how to dress to enhance and flatter is a huge way to boost your confidence. Working with a Stylist is the best way to gain this information and start your transformation!

Who is your main fashion inspiration and why?

My mum. She always looks fabulous! She dresses in a classic style that makes her never seem to age. I love the way she embraces her body.

What is the best thing about being a Style Counsel Stylist?

I love the immediacy of the App. The fact that I can provide people with real time advice, making a difference to their day, instantly! Download the FREE app with this link-

When you’re not working how do you spend your time?

I am a Mama to 2 fun loving, active, crazy boys! They keep me busy with walks, football and any other outdoors activity! I also have a mad dog who thinks she rules the house- she’s a diva! I love to spend time chilling with my family, outdoors, with plenty of laughter.

Where is your fave place to shop?

Brick lane Vintage Shops, Spitalfeilds Market and Brighton Laines! In fact, anywhere filled with vintage treasure for me to rummage through!

What was the last item of clothing you bought?

A 70’s jumpsuit in peacock blue! I can’t wait for the weather to heat up so I can wear it with big ‘Charlie’s Angel’ hair and huge, oversized sunglasses!

If you could only wear one outfit for the rest of your life what would it be?

Any of my 1950’s dresses!

Where can people find me online-

Insta- Victoria_at_boost

FB- FairyClothesMother

Web- www.givingyouaboost.wixsite.com/hello

APP link-

bottom of page